1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Future Outlook For Career Choices

1. Dec 14, 2013 #1
    Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on this site and certainly will not be my last. First a little about me, I am 28, married, currently maintain a 4.0 in college. I am a non traditional student looking at varying career paths. While I have not declared a major as of yet, the options I am considering are all dual majors and are as follows listed in order of interest (which the first two I have almost identical interest).

I haunt my public library and the Occupational Outlook Handbook and am curious to hear from current undergraduate and graduate students as well as people who have graduated with similar degrees as to the trend of the potential opportunities found within these career paths. Do they line up with the predictions of the OOH, how secure are the opportunities of such careers, etc.

A little more about me, I love science. I come from a family full of scientists, from several Harvard based Astro Physicists to Rocket Scientists and so while Engineering sounds interesting to me, I am afraid that I wont be able to be apart of more of the research side of things. If I am incorrect in this assumption of thinking that Engineering has limited research possibilities, please someone correct me.

• Physics / Mathematics
    • Electrical Engineering / Physics
    • Mechanical Engineering / Physics

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 14, 2013 #2