Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Geometric Understanding of Tensors.

1. Jan 21, 2012 #1

dpa

I am a beginner in theory of GR and am trying to understand it better.

I have a problem with understanding tensors. I got the algebriac idea, incliding covariance, contravariance and transformations etc of tensors. But not the geometric. Tensors are abstract but can I not have geometric interpretation of Tensors like I can have of Vectors.
    If I can get image of tensors like I have of vectors, I think they would be far easier.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2012 #2

zonde

Gold Member

No guarantee but you can try to imagine tensor as transformation of coordinate system (just picking new coordinate axes). That's for covariant tensors. And contravariant tensor as transformation of coordinate units.

4. Jan 22, 2012 #3
    I have been wondering about this myself; just like in your case I totally get the algebra and analysis behind it, but struggling to find a geometrical interpretation. In the special case of a contravariant rank 2 tensor in three dimensions I can sort of visualize the tensor as collection of three vectors, like e.g. in the mechanical stress tensor, representing forces in three spatial directions. When such a tensor acts on a vector, it transforms it into a new vector, like if a physical force had acted on it. This of course isn't mathematically rigorous, but it does help to understand the concept a bit better. Problem is, this doesn't really work for higher-order tensors, or tensors with mixed components.

5. Jan 22, 2012 #4
    I know they discuss it in "Gravitation" by Misner, Thorne & Wheeler.

6. Jan 22, 2012 #5