Getting a physics-related job?

• Thread starter Thorra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Job
In summary, this second year student is looking into mathematical modelling of physical processes. He is aiming to specialize in this field and is concerned about his lack of intelligence and lack of social skills. He is hopeful that with hard work and dedication, he can overcome these obstacles and achieve his goals.
Thorra
Greetings, everyone.

First off, sorry for my English, especially some of the terminology, as I am not that acquainted with it yet.
I am a second year student in Physics (bachelors) and I've been thinking about my future and what I will specialize in as well as make the bachelors thesis. So I concluded that one of the best choices (maybe the best, I really have no real way of knowing yet) would probably be mathematical modelling of physical processes. It actually sounds a bit complex, but I must say I do like the idea of simulating physical processes and see the awesome 2d and 3d graphs that come with it, showing all kinds of data so you can make your own conclusions. I talked to a professor who does projects around that and he asked me what I like doing most - go out there and measure things yourself (gather data), work with software (work the data) or develop the software. I was a little torn between the latter two. I have next to no experience in programming but it's always been something I'm interested in a little at least. And working a program? Well I have about as little experience with those so far. Though, if I can modify the software and make my own scripts and such (not that I know how!), I think I would like that.

I am aiming for a sort of a meterological direction that involves some geography and geology too (the projecgts themselves), since there seems to indeed be such an option and I do like the idea of graphing out various statistics of the regions of world (at least my local region) - at least some way of being close to nature.