1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Going straight into grad classical mechanics?

1. Aug 17, 2015 #1
    I have a degree in Electrical Engineering and I want to learn classical mechanics in my free time. I originally planned to just learn out of a textbook, but I saw the university near me has a graduate course in classical mechanics this semester, and I am considering enrolling in the course.

Unfortunately, I haven't taken the undergraduate classical mechanics courses. I am only a year out of college, and I took a lot of math heavy courses (antennas, polymer physics, semiconductor fundamentals etc), so I still feel comfortable with vector calculus and differential equations, but I still don't know if this class is appropriate for me. Has anyone ever gone straight into graduate level CM, or have any advice on whether or not it is reasonable?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 17, 2015 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Sounds like a question for the course instructor. After all, this is the person who will waive the prerequisite.

Generally speaking if you're not sure whether you already have a solid enough background in a subject to skip the prerequisite, you probably don't.

4. Aug 17, 2015 #3
    I already asked the instructor, and she said I could enroll and try. The course doesn't list any prerequisites at all, and has the same description as the undergraduate sequence of classical mechanics, for which I do have the prerequisites. I guess I'm wondering how different the graduate course will be from the undergraduate one.

5. Aug 17, 2015 #4