Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I GR for a mathematician and a physicist? Whats the difference

1. Mar 10, 2017 #1
    Have members of the community had the experience of being taught GR both from a mathematical and physics perspective?

I am a trained mathematician ( whatever that means - I still struggle with integral equations :) ) but I have always been drawn to applied mathematical physics subjects and much prefer them, hence my recent jump into the weird and wonderful world of GR. Most graduate books on GR allow students to develop the necessary tools to actually apply tensor analysis and calculus to solve a problem for e.g. deriving the Schwarzschild solution. But, as soon as one steps into the big bad world of GR research papers, the jargon is incomprehensible to those not absolutely and soundly cemented in the world of Differential Geometry.

Manifolds!! manifolds!! manifolds is all I hear.

Now, I understand that GR is a geometric theory of gravity and hence the need for differential geometry but what ever happened to getting down and dirty with some applied tensorial mathematics?

Summary of questions

Members of the community having experience with being taught GR from both a pure mathematical (diff geom) and an applied sense.

Does publishing in GR require having both the language and skills of applying tensor analysis and calculus but also being able to speak the language of the more pure side of Diff. Geom?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 10, 2017 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

I think when General Relatibity first came out tensor methods ruled. Einsteins paper is all tensor-based. However as it matured as a subject more and more, it came to be expressed in Differential Geometry terms using notions like manifolds and differential forms which eventually get reduced to tensor manipulation when you go for a computation.

4. Mar 10, 2017 #3

pervect