1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Grad School with a BS in Mechanical Engineering Technology

1. Jan 22, 2016 #1
    Hi everyone,

Hopefully someone out there has gone through this as well, or can weight in on it in some way.

I have a MET degree from 2007 with a cumulative gpa below 3.0. I want to get into the aerospace industry, and I'd really like to get an advanced degree to maximize my career potential and open doors to really interesting work. I know there are going to be schools out there that will probably laugh at my application, however I've been emailing a couple that look to be promising. One school told me I'd need to do remedial work in calc based physics and statics, dynamics, fluids, and mechanics of materials, as well as making sure I've taken calc 1-3 and diff eq. I've already retaken calc 1 & 2 both with A's, and currently doing physics 1 which I expect to get an A in.

My only concern at this point is doing all this remedial work and then having the schools end up turning me down anyways. I realize that's a risk and I'm willing to accept it and work as hard as I have to. I'm just hoping to hear some success stories from others who have climbed the same mountain.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2016 #2
    Thanks for the post! This is an automated courtesy bump. Sorry you aren't generating responses at the moment. Do you have any further information, come to any new conclusions or is it possible to reword the post?

4. Jan 28, 2016 #3