Gravity modelling of asteroid 433 Eros. Any help will be appreciated.

In summary, the conversation discusses an engineering student's attempt to model the gravity around asteroid Eros using spherical harmonic expansion. The student obtained coefficients from a planetary data model and used a potential function with 16 parts. However, the coefficients do not follow the expected trend and appear to increase instead of decrease after a certain point. The conversation also mentions the use of normalized coefficients and the importance of using the correct model origin. It is suggested that the student use the N15ACOEFF coefficients for a more accurate model.
AdityaNanda
Hello.
I am an engineering student and i am attempting to model the gravity around the asteroid Eros by expanding the potential as a spherical harmonic expansion. I got the coefficients (Clm and Slm) from the Planetary Data Model of Eros(NEAR Collected Shape and Gravity Models available at http://sbn.psi.edu/pds/resource/nearbrowse.html).

My potential function had 16 parts. Each part corresponds to a particular value of l. Now each part had again l+1 number of terms.Thus the l=6 part had 7 terms. The l=16 part had 17 terms and so on.

Now since the spherical harmonics are an infinite series, the contribution from each part should decrease in magnitude. Example:- contribution from l=6 part should be less than l=5 or l=4 part.

But that is not the case in my model. The contributions from terms follow the decreasing trend till l=3 but after that the contributions start to increase.

Can you please tell me what is wrong with my model?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Is there some physical reason the coefficients should decrease? Or is that something that seems like it should happen because your spherical harmonics are an infinite series?