1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help solving non-linear second order DE

1. Feb 16, 2009 #1
    could anyone help me with solving this second order differential equation? im a noob on here so not sure how ya get the mathplayer stuff on... so the equation is of the form

x'' +ax' + bx^n = 0

(x^n means x to the power n, with a and b constants). i tried substituting x'=u to get a first order linear, but then got lost in the algebra of solving the linear DE with a integrating factor.. so is there a different method?

thanks, Pete

Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2009 #2
    Don't you solve the associated quadratic?

4. Feb 16, 2009 #3
    well substituing u=x' i get the equation

u' + au = -bx^n

which is of the form

y' +ay = f(x)

and so I multiply by the relevant integrating factor to solve, but the algebra gets very hard..

i only know how to solve linear second order DE, and got the idea of substituting x'=u from other posts, and so dont know if it is the correct way to go about this problem...

could you explain what the associated quadratic you are talking about is, as its probably something i havent yet come across...

thanks, Pete

5. Feb 16, 2009 #4
    Don't you just have

x'' + ax' = -bx^n

So first solve x'' + ax' = 0, do you know how to do that?

Then assume a solution to solve the = -bx^n part?

6. Feb 16, 2009 #5
    aah yes coz the sums of the solutions is a solution or summit like tht right??

cheers

7. Feb 16, 2009 #6
    wait... i dont kno how to solve x'' + ax' = 0 haha

8. Feb 16, 2009 #7
    Find the roots of q^2 + a*q = 0

9. Feb 16, 2009 #8