Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help to understand polytropic exponent and efficiency

1. Apr 22, 2016 #1
    Hello all,

I am new to thermodynamics applied to turbines and compressors and I am trying to get my head around what is represented when calculating the work of a compression/expansion process using the polytropic exponent as oppose to the specific heat ratio of 1.4 (I'm working with air).

The attached image ( from Çengel, Y. a. (2004). Thermodynamics: An Engineering Approach. McGraw-Hill.)

Shows the equations for polytropic compression. Polytropic_eq.PNG
    So I have two questions:
    1) is the polytropic equation taking into account any heat losses compared to the following isentropic equation: Isentropic_eq.PNG
    At the moment I am using the isentropic formulae and dividing it by the isentropic effciency which gives me a work value slightly higher accounting for irreversibilities.

2) What is the difference between using the polytropic exponent, n. Like in the first equation. And using the polytropic efficiency as below:
    Poleff_eq.png
    The reason I am asking is because using the polytropic exponent, n gives me greater efficiencies for my compression and expansion system than the ratio of specific heats, k. i.e lower compressor work and greater turbine work. Which I wouldn't expect if the polytopic exponent accounted for losses.

Thank you for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 22, 2016 #2

Randy Beikmann

Gold Member