1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with average velocity during a time interval

1. Feb 8, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    The position of a particle in meters moving along the x-axis is given by: x=21+22t-6t^2
    Calculate the average velocity of the object in m/s during the time interval t=1s to t=3s.

2. Relevant equations
    x=21+22t-6t^2
    t=3 ; t=1
    v avg. = Xf - Xi/Tf - Ti = Δx/Δt

don't know if this applies but:
    instantaneous velocity = dx/dt = -12t+22

3. The attempt at a solution
    Hello all. I am a returning student with a Major in Civil Engineering. At the age of 35, it is difficult to remember sometimes what the simple answers are. I know this may seem elementary to some of you but I believe I am over thinking this question. Please help.

My question is which answer is correct for the question asked?
    I attempted this 2 different ways and can't decide if one of them is correct or if either of them are correct.

substituting:
    x=21+22(3)-6(3)^2
    x=33m
    x=21+22(1)-6(1)^2
    x=37m

then 33-37/3-1 = -2 m/s for velocity avg.
    speed = absolute value of velocity = 2 m/s

or

I took the derivative of the initial equation and then substituted to get:
    v=-12t+22
    v=-12(3)+22=-14
    v=-12(1)+22=10

then -14-10/3-1=-12m/s = 12m/s

Any help would be great. Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2012 #2

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member