Help with constant acceleration under special relativity

In summary, McSeb explains that if you are accelerating there is no absolute simultaneity and the distance you travel is relative to where you are measuring it. He also explains that when velocity is not constant, you must integrate to find the new velocity.
McSeb
Hi, I am trying to wrap my brain around special relativity equations but I'm struggling with the math. I am a computer programmer comfortable with the algebra and but never studied calculus or physics.

Say I am already traveling at velocity "v" where "v" is approaching the speed of light. I then, over a period of observer time "t", accelerate at a constant rate of "a". How do I then calculate the distance "d" I traveled over the period of time "t" (since I started accelerating)? Also how do I calculate my subjective time "T" that elapsed over time "t"?

I understand that if my velocity remains constant then:
T = t * √(1 - (v2 / c2))
but how does the acceleration affect my subjective time? I found another equation:
T = (c / a) * arsinh(at / c)
Can I simply add them together? I would assume not due to special relativity. How do I combine the formulas?

I also understand that if I were accelerating without any existing velocity:
d = (c2 / a) * (√(1 + (at / c)2) - 1)
but shouldn't my existing velocity be taken into consideration when calculating the distance that I cover? I don't see "v" anywhere in that equation. How to I add it?

Also can I just make "a" negative and run it through the formulas again afterwards to decelerate?

Physics news on Phys.org