1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How Can I Change How Universities Perceive My Application?

1. Sep 10, 2015 #1
    I made Dean's List my senior year of undergrad, I double majored and double minored, I volunteered often and I communicate in both the social and scientific realms well. So why am I still getting turned down or "wait listed" from graduate programs?

One theory; three semester near the middle of my undergraduate education my family suffered a falling of the dominoes, so to speak, in the form of deaths, hospitalizations, and everything that came along with these things. The stress and sadness took a toll on my academic career and unfortunately those C's show it.

How can I show these institutions that I am a great student with a lot to offer without cluttering up the application or my resume? How can I explain that those grades were a product of something other than general laziness as it may appear to be?

(If I could afford non-degree seeking coursework, I would take them. However I'm on a budget and the estimated time frame for me being able to afford them is mid January. Applications are typically due between October and January 1st.)

-J0ules

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 10, 2015 #2

DEvens

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi JOules, welcome to the forum.

Did your apps to grad schools go out before your senior year marks were available? As I recall, it was third year marks that were the kicker for getting into grad schools. Or possibly mid-term from fourth year. As you mention, there are deadlines for sending out the apps.