How can I put deep cycle batteries in a semi tractor-trailer?

In summary, you can run a 1800 watt load on a set up like this provided you have a separate starting battery.
Mike9119
Hello I drive for a truck company and am getting tired of being charged for idling my truck to keep my batteries from depleting. I have a 2000w inverter now that's hooked to the truck. I had the idea of putting a few deep cycle batteries and charging them somehow with truck inverter or outlets while I drive so I don't have to idle. Is this possible? If so what would I need to get? I have never used any kind of setup like this before solar or offers anything tho I have always been interested in it. Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Mike9119 said:
Hello I drive for a truck company and am getting tired of being charged for idling my truck to keep my batteries from depleting. I have a 2000w inverter now that's hooked to the truck. I had the idea of putting a few deep cycle batteries and charging them somehow with truck inverter or outlets while I drive so I don't have to idle. Is this possible? If so what would I need to get? I have never used any kind of setup like this before solar or offers anything tho I have always been interested in it. Thank you.

Sure, you can do that as long as you have a separate starting battery.

The key thing you need is a charge controller for the deep cycle batteries, preferably a 3-stage charge controller. The controller uses nominally 12 v in and 12 v out. That is commonly used on boats to charge deep cycle batteries from the alternator or from solar/wind sources. A search for alternator charge controller on Google returned numerous results ranging from $79 to $250 in cost.

The cheapest deep cycle batteries are typically 6 volt golf cart batteries. You wire them in series to make a 12 v bank.