Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do angles of waterwheel affect angular velocity

1. Dec 9, 2014 #1
    Hello, I'm currently writing a high school academic paper on waterwheels. One of the things I want to find out is whether the angle of paddles of the undershot waterwheel affects the angular velocity.
    So here is my question:
    How do the different angles of the paddles in a waterwheel affect it's angular velocity, and why?
    Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2014 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Hi. I'm not quite sure what you mean by the question. A paddle has no angular velocity unto itself, since it is a rigid structural component of the wheel. Do you mean how the angle affects the efficiency of capturing energy from the water?

4. Dec 9, 2014 #3
    Oooops! Thats what I mean. I'm still kinda new to physics, but I'm guessing it has to do with free body diagrams?

5. Dec 9, 2014 #4

Danger

Gold Member

Truth be told, young dude, I really have no idea what a "free body diagram" is. We never did any of that kind of stuff when I was in school. I still can't get used to seeing the terms "Newtons" and "bars"; I was taught in foot-pounds, horsepower, and pounds-per-square-inch. (And that was in physics class, not just auto shop.)
    What effect the "angle of attack" of the paddle has will partially depend upon how it fits into the overall structure of the wheel. (ie: is it a flow-through design, or does it form an enclosed "bucket" or maybe a "catch-and-release" system..?
    I won't be able to provide any meaningful assistance once you get to your exact question, but I hope that perhaps I can help you get to it.

6. Dec 9, 2014 #5

Doug Huffman

Gold Member

Paddle angle does not appear in power or efficiency calculations. As the angle tends away from zero the resultant force has a larger useless component side loading the bearings.

7. Dec 9, 2014 #6