1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do I decide on a college major?

1. Jan 17, 2014 #1
    I'm a college student who's interested in the following sciences: physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, and computer science. (In high school I did ok in all of them, but had no particular interest in any.)

So, how could I decide which one to pursue?

Also, I want to get a PhD and become a researcher.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 17, 2014 #2

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Write them all down in a circle and place a bottle at the origin. Spin the bottle and go with whatever it lands on! Only don’t do that.

Try this, write down each of your interests on a sheet of paper in one column. In the next list why you think you’d want to major in that field, what you like about it, what you see yourself doing with it...etc. See if you can eliminate any that you aren’t overly interested in now. After that, in a third column research each of the remaining majors and look at what recent graduates are doing with their degrees, what research is being conducted, i.e. what the degree is really all about.

See if your research on the major matches what you envisioned it to be like and whether you actually want to leave that option on the table. Whatever remains you’ll just have to search internally for an answer and try to meet professors or scientists who work in that field. More or less each of those degrees would have similar requirements for the first year or two of college anyway, so you have time.

After you’ve done all that and still can’t decide, go with whichever one you feel you couldn’t live without and gives the greatest opportunity for cross discipline interaction. There is no external solution to your conundrum unfortunately.