How do I get better at teaching myself

• Thread starter pinkfishegg
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Teaching
In summary, the undergraduate physics major finds that he learns better when he interacts with people, but is struggling to learn from reading a grad level textbook on his own. He is unsure of what to do about this problem.
pinkfishegg
I am an undergraduate physics major who just finished her sophomore year of physics and is currently at a research REU. I found that I had a lot of trouble studying by myself during my past year of school : conversations I had in office hours with my professors and exercises we did during class seemed to help but the hours and hours I spend studying never did. I find I tend to learn better through interaction which is an important part of physics but I become overly depending on other people. Right now I am trying to read through a grad level solid state textbook and seem to have the same problem. I retain ideas after going through them with the grad students but seem to retain nothing when reading the book myself. I'm not sure what to do about this but it seems better to fix it now when I don't have the kind of time pressure I do in school.

I'm a task oriented person so I'm good at getting my homework done and research hours in. However I don't always learn everything I need to know from doing my homework. Right now I don't have any homework to do, just experimental tasks to carry out and theory to teach myself with the help of grad students. I think it would help if I bought an undergraduate textbook but I need more advise than that on how to learn. I've looked for lectures online as well but it seems difficult to find good ones that pertain to a specific topic.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey pinkfishegg and welcome to the forums.

With the fact in mind that research is hard and graduate level science/engineering/math is hard, I think you should put this in perspective.