1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How is the algebra of quaternions isomorphic to the algebra of matrices?

1. Jul 23, 2012 #1
    I just started learning about morphisms and I came across a problem that totally stumps me. Here goes:

Show that the algebra of quaternions is isomorphic to the algebra of matrices of the form:

\begin{pmatrix}
    \alpha & \beta \\
    -\bar{\beta} & \bar{\alpha} \end{pmatrix}

where α,β[itex]\in[/itex]ℂ and the overbar indicates complex conjugation.

[Hint: If q=a+bi+cj+dk is a quaternion, identify it with the matrix whose entries are [itex]\alpha[/itex] =a+bi, [itex]\beta[/itex] =c+di, [itex]\bar{\alpha}[/itex] =a-bi, -[itex]\bar{\beta}[/itex] =-c+di, (a,b,c,d) [itex]\in[/itex]ℝ, i[itex]^{2}[/itex]=j[itex]^{2}[/itex]=k[itex]^{2}[/itex]=-1]

Thanks a lot everyone!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2012 #2

What have you tried? Have you already summed (multiplied) two of the above matrices and verified the sum behaves as the

sum (product) of the respective quaternions?

For example, heeding to the hint given, we'd have the identifications

[tex]i \sim \begin{pmatrix}1&0\\0&-1\end{pmatrix}\,\,,\,j \sim \begin{pmatrix}0&1\\-1&0\end{pmatrix}\,\,,\,k \sim \begin{pmatrix}0&1\\1&0\end{pmatrix}[/tex]so do we have

[tex]ij=k \sim \begin{pmatrix}1&0\\0&-1\end{pmatrix} \begin{pmatrix}0&1\\-1&0\end{pmatrix}\stackrel{?}=\begin{pmatrix}0&1\\1&0\end{pmatrix}\,\,??[/tex]

DonAntonio

4. Jul 23, 2012 #3
    Okay, I have verified that ij=k but I don't see what to do next.

5. Jul 23, 2012 #4
    The more I look at this problem the less I understand what I am supposed to be doing. Without giving me any answers what I need is for someone to walk me through the steps to the solution. I need an understanding of what I'm trying to solve here.