How long does it take for the train to stop moving?

• Thread starter blader324
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Train
In summary, the train is traveling at 20 m/s on a straight track and the engineer applies the brakes resulting in an acceleration of -1.0 m/s^2. The train stops moving after 20 seconds, and therefore travels a total of 210 meters during the 40 second time interval. The equation used to calculate this distance is 20+19+18+...+1+0=210 meters. Common sense can be used to understand the problem, but it is important to also use the kinematic relationships to fully comprehend the concept.
blader324

Homework Statement

a train is traveling down a straight track at 20m/s when the engineer applies the brakes resulting in an acceleration of -1.0m/s^2 as long as the train is in motion. how far does the train move durin g a 40 second time interval starting at the instant the brakes are applied?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm new to physics and have no idea what to do. i keep getting zero when i plug it into the formula. also...i know that the train eventually stops before 40 seconds and doesn't travel anywhere...but how do i incorporate that into the equation?

Physics news on Phys.org
How long does it take for the train to stop moving?

i think it takes 20 seconds...but I'm not so sure.

That's correct. If you're not sure, review the definition of acceleration.

okay...so if it takes 20 seconds for the train to stop moving...doesn't that mean it travels for a total of 210 meters?

How did you deduce that? (Always show your work.)

i'm using common sense for the problem but i don't know what equation to use to get the answer of 200 meters. i just did 20+19+18+...+1+0=210 meters.

blader324 said:
i'm using common sense for the problem but i don't know what equation to use to get the answer of 200 meters. i just did 20+19+18+...+1+0=210 meters.
Commonsense is OK if you can justify it. What do those numbers mean? 20 = ?; 19 = ?...