How to build different structures using programming

In summary, the OP asked how to generate a tip geometry made of a single atom at the apex of a pyramid-like structure, and was provided a link to a tutorial on how to do so.
acharya4689
Hi All,

Greetings..!

I am a master student in nanoelectronics from India. I wish to know how to generate nanostructures (for example as shown in figure attached) using programming (C/Python). Are there any algorithms or literature that discuss how some random structure of nanoclusters can be generated by computer programming... Please help me in this regard..!

Thank you...!

Attachments

• Al.png
    Al.png
    6.6 KB · Views: 475
Physics news on Phys.org
You don't generate nanostructures using programming language. My bet is that you are looking for methods of simulating them using a computer. That can be broken into two parts: model used for simulation, and code required to implement the simulation. And yes, there are books on both - but the way you asked the question suggests you need something very basic as a starting point. See if you can put your hands on these books:

Alejandro L. Garcia, Numerical Methods for Physics (Prentice Hall, 1994)
J.M. Thijssen. Computational Physics. Springer Verlag, 1999.
S.E. Koonin and D. Meredith. Computational Physics. Addison Wesley, 1990.
J. Gibbs. Computational Physics. World Scientific, 1994.
B. Giordano. Computational Physics. Preston, 2005.