1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to effectively choose a research career?

1. May 28, 2007 #1
    I have a few questions, but first, some short background for those who don't already know. I'm a first year physics graduate student. I graduated college back in December in physics and math, I start graduate classes this fall, and I'm doing astrophysics research this summer. I'm not entirely sure what field I want to go into (that's where you guys come in), and so I'm using this summer to see if I like astrophysics. However, I'm also thinking about condensed matter physics.

So last week, my professor called me into his office to talk to me about my long-term career. He talked about some areas of astrophysics I could go into after my two years of classes. Though students don't typically do any research while taking classes, he also asked me to stay in touch with the astro group during the fall, and to come into the lab at least once a week (which I would like to do). This is what got me thinking about what I should be doing to figure out whether I want to do astro or CMP. So I've got a few specific questions for professors, other PhDs, and people who are farther into grad school.

First, will one summer + one day a week of research in the fall give me an adequate flavor of an entire field, so that I can make sure that this is what I want to do for a living? Or are there any books/people (perhaps posters on PF) that I should be consulting?

Secondly, how do I go about checking out CMP research? It's highly dissimilar to astro, and since I'm already going to be doing astro research this fall, I can't also join a CMP group. What specific things can I do to get a good idea of what CMP research is like?