1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to go from Mediocre to Extraordinary?

1. Jun 23, 2008 #1
    Hello all.

Im pretty new to the physicsforums, but nonetheless am amazed at the extent of intellectual curiousity in this community.

Anyway this is my question.

At my high school I guess I am considered "elite" in Math, Science, History,..not english...I suck at that. I taught my self precalculus and did rather well in Cal BC.

But when I come on to physicsforums or theartofproblemsolving I feel inadequate, below average, and sub par.

It seems like every other kid is taking Quantam Physics and Complex Analysis by Sophomore year in High School.

Not to mention the elegance and speediness some of the people here can solve problems I scratch my head over for a long time.

My question to you all in short is how do you take the mediocre and transform it into the extraordinary.

Relative to the degree of skill seen on physicsforums or theartofproblemsolving I am a mediocre physicist and mathematician.

What can I do to take my skill to the next level and beyond?

I know "practice makes perfect", but how?

Do I just sit there starting on pg.1 of James Walkers' Physics and work may way through the entire book doing each and every single problem?

Please help because this is personal dilemma thats been biting me for a long time.

Thank you.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 23, 2008 #2