Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to interact with lecturers non-awkwardly?

1. Mar 21, 2017 #1
    I am an undergrad student, I often greet my lecturers, but afterwards comes a long period of awkward silence.
    Also, when I ask my lecturer questions during office hours, I cant help my self but to bombard them question after questions, and they seems to be fed up with me...
    So how can I be less awkward in general?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2017 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Choose your questions wisely. Research your questions and try to find the answers yourself and when you are stuck then ask very specific and pointed questions.

Sometimes we get folks here who post a program and say its not working and we have to ask whats not working and after many posts we might discover the reason and its something they could have discovered if they took the time to look. Perhaps your questions are like that. They require a book to answer or they are so mired in misconceptions that its very difficult to unravel and answer or it may simply be beyond the persons ability to answer.

Then again you might be asking without listening to the answer and that may show up based on your next question. ANyway, here's a humorous Jack-In-The-Box commercial about it:

Many years ago, I had a Chinese martial arts teacher who would get bothered by the questions I asked. He was polite but I could tell something was amiss. It was perhaps a cultural difference since Americans question whereas as traditional Chinese teachers want you to focus on what you're learning and not ask until you've exhausted every other means.

"I hear, and I forget. I see, and I remember. I do, and I understand.".
    我听到,我忘了,我看到,我记得,我和我知道
    Wǒ tīng dào, wǒ wàngle, wǒ kàn dào, wǒ jìde, wǒ hé wǒ zhīdào
    -- attributed to Confucious