How should I actually be studying during my undergrad physics course?

In summary, the student is a first year physics student who is struggling to study effectively. They have been trying to rewrite lecture notes using the textbook, but it takes up too much time and they are unable to do practice questions or reading. They are also worried about falling behind and not being able to catch up. The student is seeking advice on alternative study methods and is open to attending workshops or studying with other students. The conversation also highlights the importance of self-care and finding individualized study methods.
confusedandroid
im a first year physics student near half way through the year and I still cant get to grips with what how im supposed to study.

I try to rewrite my lecture notes using the textbook as the lectures seem to miss out a fair bit of information (and we were told to do this), but this takes me so long to do each day I don't have time for practice questions or to do much (if any) reading for the next days lectures. The way I'm doing it clearly wouldn't work for second year given the massive increase in content and difficulty. Plus the second I fall behind its very hard to catch up. Even when I do successfully make notes, when I go to do questions it apparent that I actually don't understand the content even though I thought I did.

What I'm currently doing clearly isn't working, maybe because im doing it wrong or perhaps its just the wring method. The only alternative I can think of is to just read the text and do the questions but I don't have a good memory and I think that that would make revising for test considerably harder.

If anyone has any advice/methods of study that would be greatly appreciated :)

Physics news on Phys.org