Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to solve the Klein Gordon Complex Field?

1. May 25, 2009 #1
    Hi

I am teaching myself QFT, and this is not a homework problem. Right now, I am learning Classical Field Theory, and I am not sure how to proceed with the following problem. I would be grateful to receive inputs and suggestions.

Problem Given the Klein Gordon Lagrangian with a complex field,

[tex]\mathcal{L} = \partial_{\mu}\Phi^{\dagger}\partial^{\mu}\Phi - m^2 \Phi^{\dagger}\Phi[/tex]

find the conserved current and charge.

My problem is two fold:

1. How do I differentiate the first term with respect to [itex]\partial_{\mu}\Phi[/itex] (the term with the conjugate)? I know this is probably a trivial question, but I am new to this notation.

2. What is the significance of a complex field, as opposed to a real field?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 25, 2009 #2
    consider the other term as constant

the real field describes particles with no charge (neutral), and complex field describe particles with two opposite charges.

4. May 25, 2009 #3

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

1. The function you're taking a partial derivative of is just a (first order) polynomial in 10 variables, so you differentiate it just like any other polynomial. There's nothing fancy going on here. It's no different than finding the partial derivatives of the function f defined by [itex]f(u,v,w,x,y,z)=uv-wx-m^2 yz[/itex] where m is a constant. (This is the 1+1-dimensional version of your [itex]\mathcal L[/itex]).