How to transform this into partial derivatives? (Arfken)

In summary, the conversation involves a discussion about the divergence of a vector field and the transformation of an equation. The first equation uses the definition of derivative, and in the limit as the variable approaches zero, it becomes a rearrangement of the derivative. The second equation is a statement of conservation of mass and is required by the continuity equation. The conversation also includes a typo correction and a mention of finding the derivation of the continuity equation.
physicophysiology
wow.PNG

Hello. Glad to meet you, everyone
I am studying the [Mathematical Methods for Physicists; A Comprehensive Guide (7th ed.) - George B. Arfken, Hans J. Weber, Frank E. Harris]
In Divergence of Vector Field,
I do not understand that
1.png

How to transform the equation in left side into that in right side?

Besides, the other question is
2.png

How to transform the equation in left side into that in right side?

Attachments

• wow.PNG
    wow.PNG
    28.9 KB · Views: 882
  • 1.png
    1.png
    2.3 KB · Views: 562
  • 2.png
    2.png
    2.3 KB · Views: 372
Physics news on Phys.org
In physics derivations, we often tend to be a little careless about distinguishing between small finite things and the limit as those things go to 0. But essentially the first one is using the definition of derivative.

Suppose instead of ##dx## you use ##h##.
Define ##f(x) = \rho v_x##.
Then ##\left. -(\rho v_x) \right |_{x-dx/2} = f(x - (h/2))## and ##\left. -(\rho v_x) \right |_{x+dx/2} = f(x + (h/2))## and the left hand side of that equation becomes ##f(x + (h/2)) - f(x - (h/2))##.
We know that in the limit as ##h \rightarrow 0##, ##\frac {f(x + (h/2)) - f(x - (h/2))} {h} \rightarrow \frac {\partial f}{\partial x}## which is being rearranged as
##f(x + (h/2)) - f(x - (h/2)) = h \frac {\partial f}{\partial x}##
where ##h## is the infinitesimal ##dx##.

It is as I said not exactly rigorous mathematics.