Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I hope this is the right thread

1. Dec 8, 2007 #1
    Well anyways..
    I'm currently a student at a High School.
    We have these "Scrap heap challenges"
    The idea of this one is to build a "Electromagnetic device"
    This one is to hold at least 5 grams of weight and maintain it..
    After that we keep adding weight to see who's can hold the most

With the items of...[I'm unsure of some these item sizes but should be general area or somewhat close to that...And those are refering to width not length]

Paper clips [Roughly 10]
    2 Dcell batteries
    1 1/4 inch steel bar
    1 1/2 inch steel bar
    1 inch steel bar
    1 1/4 inch aluminum bar
    1 1/2 wood [Wood is unsure type]
    2 hand cranks [This device has to circuit ends leading to clamp onto a device and you crank the handle producing an electric current] DC current btw..
    1 foot long tape
    5m of wire [the ampage im unsure of]

I beleive this is most of the stuff used in experiment

Any ideas or suggestions feel free ><
    This experiment should be similar to alot which I've also looked up online..but yea..
    Any help is helpful heh xD
    Thanks in advanced
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 8, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to PF Filipino Rice.

Which do you think would produce the most current (hence magnetic force); 2 D cell batteries or the hand crank generator? I would probably go for the generator and someone with a good arm.
  4. Dec 9, 2007 #3
    Thats personally what i thought too..
    We were trying to develop a way to connect them all in series to see if that would produce more current than a crank or battery alone.
    But personally we think the crank would produce more energy.

As to the steel bars..
    We used the smallest one..and wrapped it with the wire..