I would like some advice before switching to a math major

In summary, the speaker is currently in their first year of official physics courses and is unsure if they should continue as a physics major. They have found the material to be difficult and have struggled to keep up with their peers. They are considering switching to a math major, as they are better at math and see more potential job opportunities. However, they also have a passion for physics and see its applicability in the world around them. They are worried about wasting time in college and are seeking advice on what to do. They also mention a problem set due next week, which they estimate will take them 2-3 hours per question. Overall, they are conflicted and unsure about their academic path.
Vitani11
I'm in my first year of official physics courses. This semester I am in mechanics 1, mathematical physics, linear algebra, and intermediate lab. I'm not sure whether I should stay as a physics major. Before considering the switch...

How long did (does) it take you on average to solve a problem in (for example) a problem set for mechanics?

We have a problem set due next Wednesday which is six questions. I think it took me about four maybe five hours yesterday to do the first two problems, and the rest I don't even know where to begin (I mean I sort of do, but you know what I mean it takes a lot of careful thought). On the other hand with my mathematical physics HW I can get through all or most of it without much strain, and it's basically just a course in mathematics.

Reasons to switch: