Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

If Uranium's half life is 4.5 billion years, why does it become waste

1. Jun 17, 2011 #1
    Okay, If Uranium's half life is 4.5 billion years, why does it become waste at a reactor before it decays 4.5 billion years later.....

Forgive me if my question is badly worded or really stupid; I am a high-school student who has just finished the topic of "Nuclear Energy" in my physics class (I REALLY ENJOYED IT) and I've become very interested in the area and I want to know a lot about it :)

P.S. I am also sorry if I've posted in the wrong sub-forum :/

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2011 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

4. Jun 17, 2011 #3
    In a reactor it's made to deliberately split (not decay, but similar end result) so we can gather the energy of the splitting and use it.

In nature it becomes radioactive waste too, just a lot slower. The waste eventually decays into stable compounds making fission a clean, green, and fully renewable energy source over time.

5. Jun 17, 2011 #4

Borek

This is off. It is not clean as radioactive waste needs thousands of years to decay, and it is not renewable, as stable isotopes that are at the end of the decay chain can't be reused. Whether it is green depends on how you define green - if everything works OK and if we will finally decide where to safely store radioactive waste, then yes, it will be green. Unfortunately, as for now there is no decision on where to build the safe depository.

6. Jun 17, 2011 #5
    They can't be reused in a reactor but they can be used to make cars and vacuum cleaners, just like recycled glass and plastic.

(yes, it takes a very long time; my point is that radioactivity in that LONG run is greener than say styrofoam which is probably more stable and less beneficial in the wild.)

7. Jun 17, 2011 #6

Borek