1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm interested in switching careers to the astronomy field(s)

1. Jan 26, 2014 #1
    Hi everybody!

I've recently decided to make a substantive change in my life, and leave the legal profession for the astronomy world.

I am not all too keen on accruing debt or working in a legal capacity. But I 'm figuring that there must be a decent-sized body of support personnel (associated with collection/analysis of data, deployment of tools, laboratory work, or otherwise) that help to make all of the wonderful discoveries in astronomy possible. So I am hoping I can leverage my existing skills or never-ending interest in learning on the job to fit into the community somewhere.

I am a lawyer with a great deal of exposure to data science. I manage big data projects in which I oversee the structuring of data, use of analytics, optical-character recognition, and other processes in order to achieve a very high degree of accuracy in databasing for the purpose of discovery in investigations and litigation. This requires me to build teams of lawyers and technologists, lead the development of tools, discover search errors/exceptions and instances where data has not been integrated properly along the way, and many other things. It is a good job, but my calling is elsewhere, and this is my intelligence-gathering phase prior to the jump! While I have no formal training in the sciences, this is more than a hobby for me -- I spend most of my free time studying math, physics, and growing my understanding of astronomy, and I am a keen astrophotographer.