Implicit Differentiation and Complex numbers concept question

In summary, at x > 1 the function doesn't have a real derivative and the circle is only a small part of the more global complex function.
DrummingAtom
I just started learning Implicit Differentiation and came across an issue. I took the derivative of the circle function:

y2 + x2 = 1

y' = -x / y

This all made sense until I solved the circle function for y, which gives:

y = [tex]\pm[/tex][tex]\sqrt{1 - x^2}[/tex]

For any x > 1, it's going to be complex. So, does this mean that for any x > 1 I can now compute the derivative for those complex numbers? Because plugging a x > 1 into my derivative formula I'll get a number. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi DrummingAtom! :wink:

Let's use different letters, to make it easier …

if z2 + t2 = 1, with t real and z complex,

then dz/dt = -t/z, and everything's ok :smile:

(try it with z = x + iy if you're not happy)

I don't know if I'm right... But as I see it, circle is not defined for any x > 1 since radius of this circle is 1. At a point x > 1 there is no circle so I don't think it's of any use..

Welcome to PF!

Hi Wzet! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Yes, the curve doesn't go into the x > 1 region, if we allow an ordinary (real) y-axis.

But if we allow a "complex y-axis", the curve y = √(1 - x2) carries on up to "infinite" x.

Thanks for welcoming :)

I thought the question was, if it helpful and if the computation of derivative when x > 1 tells us something. if x < 1 then we can compute useful things, but is the complex derivative of the function helpful?

Wzet said:
… is the complex derivative of the function helpful?

sometimes :smile:

(one of the advantages of complex functions is that they do most of the things that real functions do … only more so! :biggrin:)

DrummingAtom said:
I just started learning Implicit Differentiation and came across an issue. I took the derivative of the circle function:

y2 + x2 = 1