1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Indicial Notation-Proving grad(u.v) and EijkEkpq

1. Aug 31, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Prove grad(u.v)=(u.grad)v+(v.grad)u+ux(curlv)+vx(curlu) [x's are cross product, .'s are dot product]
    or better seen as: [tex]\nabla[/tex](u[tex]\bullet[/tex]v)=(u[tex]\bullet[/tex][tex]\nabla[/tex])v+(V[tex]\bullet[/tex][tex]\nabla[/tex])u+u[tex]\wedge[/tex]([tex]\nabla[/tex][tex]\wedge[/tex]v)+v[tex]\wedge[/tex]([tex]\nabla[/tex][tex]\wedge[/tex]u)

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    I am new to this notation, and I know that the gradient multiplied by a scalar (from the dot product) will be a vector, but I don't know how to show it is this identity. I have racked my brain!!!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Show that [tex]\epsilon[/tex][tex]_{}kij[/tex][tex]\epsilon[/tex][tex]_{}kpq[/tex]=[tex]\delta[/tex][tex]_{}ip[/tex][tex]\delta[/tex][tex]_{}jq[/tex]-[tex]\delta[/tex][tex]_{}iq[/tex][tex]\delta_{}jp[/tex]

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    Again, I haven't a clue!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2009 #2
    For the second problem:

[tex]\epsilon_{ijk}[/tex] is called the Levi-Civita symbol. Basically, you should form a matrix of Kronecker deltas and then compute the determinant of the matrix. It should look something like this:

http://i29.tinypic.com/13ydzl0.png

You should be able to prove the identity once you've written the determinant out once or twice.

4. Sep 1, 2009 #3
    For 1:

Simplest possible method I know of is to write u as (u1 u2 u3) and v as (v1 v2 v3) and then solve each part.

e.g. For left part,

it is

(d/dx,d/dy,d/dz) (k)