1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interested in the dosimetrist career path

1. Jun 3, 2012 #1
    Hi everyone. I know there are some medical dosimetrists and physicists in this forum who have provided useful advice. I still have some questions, if you don't mind.

Basically, my background consists of a B.S. and M.Sc in physics with not so stellar grades (~3.0 GPA). I graduated almost 7 years ago with no work experience in the discipline. I've worked in some finance and am currently in IT. I'm looking to apply to some dosimetry programs but it seems my chances are slim compared to applicants who come from a radiation therapy background.

I did apply to a radiation therapy program at a reputable institution some time ago but was declined because they felt I was too shy and reserved to be able to interact with patients. I wasn't too happy about that but they're the professionals who know what it takes so I understand.

So I figured perhaps I could go straight into dosimetry. I'm in the process of taking Biology and Anatomy/Physiology to fulfill program prerequisites and then, hopefully, intern at a clinic to get some experience. Provided I can find one willing to take me.

My question is if it's worth sacrificing my current job to proceeds with my aspirations. I know this is something I want to do and was in awe when I shadowed a dosimetrist for a day. I have the utmost respect for the radiation oncology team and what they do. I don't have a radiation therapy background. I don't have a radiology background. I don't have any healthcare background. I'm just a prospective applicant in my early 30's looking to switch careers.