Investment for Physics Degree from a foreign country

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's dilemma between pursuing a career in engineering or following their passion for pure, basic and theoretical physics. They mention receiving advice to do engineering and then pursue a master's in physics from a foreign country, but when they are accepted into the University of Vienna for a BSc. in physics, they are tempted to study abroad. However, the cost of living in Vienna is high and they were not selected for a scholarship. The conversation also mentions the difference between the graduate process in foreign countries and the United States, as well as the speaker's recommendation to study in Germany due to their free education system. Ultimately, the speaker concludes by stating that they are not strongly tempted to study abroad, but it would be a
sodaboy7
I am from India and I am currently studying Electrical Engineering from a good private college( with a considerable CGPA of 8.5). But I was never interested in Engineering. All I wanted to go for was Pure,Basic and theoretical Physics. Many "experienced" people advised me to do engineering and then do masters in Physics from a foreign country. But when my application was accepted by University of Vienna for BSc. Physics, it was irresistible to me. Moreover, my tuition fees would be reimbursed after completion of the program. But then I came to know about cost of living in Vienna and it was very high. So, I applied for a scholarship (along with 1400 other people) but only 300 were selected and unfortunately I was not among them. Now the question is that: Is it worth investing that much amount of money (I mean I will have to take educational loan and other stuff...) for studying Physics from Vienna or to continue what I am doing and then do Masters in Physics. Also, is there any scholarship which can specifically finance my cost of living ?

Physics news on Phys.org