1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is it possible or i am kidding my self?

1. Nov 8, 2015 #1
    Hello. I am in first year college studying electronics engineering and computer science and i am 20 years old.

I recently did the national mathematics exam to go to college and had 160 out of 200. Ironic, huh?

I failed math at 10 grade and stoped doing any math for 3 years. By the time of the exam i didnt know how to solve a first degree equation or add negative numbers. So i studied all the material tested in the exam, 4years worth on my own in 5 months from pre algebra - geometry - trigonometry to derivatives and complex numbers. I didnt study much deeply successions and statistics, didnt need.

I know i covered a lot of ground, mainly because i felt in love for math, proofs and rigor. I even read some stuff on langs basic mathematics book.

Now in college, taking integral calculus i have no problems in math, i love math. I put a lot of effort, prefering to understand, not just nemorize.

But am i kidding my self? Studying this fast will hurt me in the future? I want to know your sincere opinions.

Because sometimes i feel the strange notion that i should have done more exercises, read nore books,, again, have no problems though. Do you have the same feeling?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2015 #2
    I think you'll be fine if you keep working hard and feel your way along.

If you want to confirm a thorough knowledge of high school math, sign up for ALEKS pre-calculus. Students who are strong in all the areas blow through it in a couple of weeks or less. Students who need some brushing up take a couple of months. The system is thorough.

4. Nov 9, 2015 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award