1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is it worth it switching into engineering?

1. Jan 3, 2012 #1
    This question has been bothering me for quite some time so I thought I'd ask it here.

I'm currently in third year at McGill and was studying physiology, but just got accepted to switch into electrical engineering for next semester. If I switch, it would only take me one extra year to finish my degree (first year for science and engineering is the same at McGill, and I've taken a few math and compsci electives that count towards engineering). In grade 12 I wanted to be an engineer, and usually had one of the highest marks in my calculus and physics classes, but I also liked biology and really thought I wanted to go to medical school so I ended up choosing life science with the intention of doing a joint major in physiology and physics. After seeing an advisor in first year, he told me it was really difficult to get a competitive GPA in the joint major so I ended up just doing physiology. After a year of taking courses like molecular biology and genetics I realized I hated it (all the memorizing) and liked my math and comp courses a lot better.

So my question is, do you think it's worth it to switch at this point? I only have to take 5 more physiology/biology courses, and could take 10 courses of math/physics electives, but I would end up with a kind of useless degree in my opinion. I think at the end of the road I want to do biomedical engineering/medical physics...mostly medical imaging stuff, and all my physiology profs whose research interests me all did their undergrads in electrical engineering or computer science. I like math and physics a lot..but it's a lot of extra time and money to switch at this point.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 3, 2012 #2

Choppy