Is Light considered Matter? Questions on energy and states of matter.

In summary, according to the answer provided, light is considered matter by the modern physics definition. However, light cannot be considered mass, and would need to be macroscopic for it to be considered a phase of matter.
Julligan
So my initial question was whether or not light was considered matter. While googling this question, I came across this answer:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080717210504AAngJQO

In the top answer given, it is inferred that photons (light) are included in the definition of matter by the modern physics definition.

So if light is matter, in what state is it? I'm very new to physics, and from my understanding matter is characterized by certain qualities, and can be put in a category such as a gas, liquid, etc...

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Science news on Phys.org
There is no specific physics definition of matter. Its an ill defined term that is not technical. Check out the Wikipedia on it.

I would not consider light matter. The first line in the wiki says that mass and volume are characteristics of matter. Light has neither.

In physics we prefer the term 'mass', its is specifically defined.

So to consider something as a gas, liquid, or any other phase of matter, would said thing need to have mass?

I think so. And it would have to be macroscopic too. I would not consider a proton to be matter. Even a proton and an electron (H atom) is pushing it. A single proton or H atom cannot be in a gas, liquid or solid state. You need a collection of them to start distinguishing between phases. And once you get a collection of them you can start to talk of their volume as well.