Is there a mistake in the assignment?

In summary, the student's problem has initial conditions that do not allow for a solution and the tutor suggests modifying the conditions to make a solution possible.
kostoglotov

Homework Statement

I'm actually a tutor, and a student of mine at uni has the following differential equation with initial conditions to solve

ptuymQv.gif

imgur link: http://i.imgur.com/ptuymQv.gif

From [itex]y(t) = c_1sin(3t) + c_2cos(3t)[/itex], it is not possible to solve for the constants using the given initial conditions. I always wind up with [itex]-c_2 = -3c_1[/itex] and [itex]c_2 = -3c_1[/itex].

Am I missing something or are those init conditions NP?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
kostoglotov said:

Homework Statement

I'm actually a tutor, and a student of mine at uni has the following differential equation with initial conditions to solve

ptuymQv.gif

imgur link: http://i.imgur.com/ptuymQv.gif

From [itex]y(t) = c_1sin(3t) + c_2cos(3t)[/itex], it is not possible to solve for the constants using the given initial conditions. I always wind up with [itex]-c_2 = -3c_1[/itex] and [itex]c_2 = -3c_1[/itex].

Am I missing something or are those init conditions NP?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

If you continue with your work, you get ##c_1 = c_2 = 0##. That means that the solution to the DE is ##y(t) = 0\sin(3t) + 0\cos(3t) \equiv 0##.
That might not have been what the author of the problem intended, but it's a valid solution.

Last edited:
This response may well be more advanced than what the OP needs, but I'm giving it for others that might read this thread.

Those boundary conditions look like Sturm-Liouville type B.C.'s, and you wouldn't normally expect a non-zero solution for any old value of the constant, which is ##9## in this problem. For example, consider the eigenvalue problem$$