1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is there a mistake in the assignment?

1. Oct 17, 2016 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm actually a tutor, and a student of mine at uni has the following differential equation with initial conditions to solve

ptuymQv.gif

imgur link: http://i.imgur.com/ptuymQv.gif

From [itex]y(t) = c_1sin(3t) + c_2cos(3t)[/itex], it is not possible to solve for the constants using the given initial conditions. I always wind up with [itex]-c_2 = -3c_1[/itex] and [itex]c_2 = -3c_1[/itex].

Am I missing something or are those init conditions NP?

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2016 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

If you continue with your work, you get ##c_1 = c_2 = 0##. That means that the solution to the DE is ##y(t) = 0\sin(3t) + 0\cos(3t) \equiv 0##.
    That might not have been what the author of the problem intended, but it's a valid solution.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2016
  4. Oct 18, 2016 #3

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

This response may well be more advanced than what the OP needs, but I'm giving it for others that might read this thread.

Those boundary conditions look like Sturm-Liouville type B.C.'s, and you wouldn't normally expect a non-zero solution for any old value of the constant, which is ##9## in this problem. For example, consider the eigenvalue problem$$