Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ladder operators and matrix elements..

1. Sep 26, 2015 #1
    Please I need your help in such problems..
    in terms of ladder operators to simplify the calculation of matrix elements... calculate those
    i) <u+2|P2|u>
    ii) <u+1| X3|u>
    If u is different in both sides, then the value is 0? is it right it is 0 fir both i and ii?
    when exactly equals 0, please explain slowly, my background is chemistry and not physics..
    Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 27, 2015 #2

strangerep

Science Advisor

You'll need to supply a bit more context...

I guess P and X are momentum and position operators respectively? But what is your "u"?

4. Sep 27, 2015 #3
    Well, in terms of ladder operators, X= (h/2mw)1/2(a+a+) you can say = constant (a+a+) it is a real
    P=i(hwm/2)1/2 (a-a+) or constant (a-a+)
    about u and u+1 are functions; some books write them like this and others write PSI or PHI of subscript u and u+1;I couldn't type that way as there is no symbols here.
    a+a=n occupation number operator , [a,a+]=1

If needed I can give an example I know..

5. Sep 27, 2015 #4

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I'm assuming that [itex]|u\rangle[/itex] means the state such that the number operator [itex]N = a^\dagger a[/itex] has value [itex]u[/itex]? In that case, it's completely straight-forward, if tedious, to compute expressions such as

[itex]\langle u+2 | P^2 | u \rangle[/itex]

Just write [itex]P[/itex] in terms of [itex]a[/itex] and [itex]a^\dagger[/itex], and apply the rules:

[itex]a |u\rangle = \sqrt{u} |u - 1\rangle[/itex]
    [itex]a^\dagger |u\rangle = \sqrt{u+1} |u+1\rangle[/itex]
    [itex] \langle n | m \rangle = 0[/itex] if [itex]n \neq m[/itex]
    [itex]\langle n | n \rangle = 1[/itex]