Laser Propulsion in space -- please see the attached diagram....

In summary, using a laser sail to propel a spacecraft is an ineffective concept due to the high fuel requirements and lengthy trip times.
drjamesroe
Please help me understand why this is a concept that has not been studied? The laser sail is really the only info I can find in this area using a laser from a fixed source. Using liquid nitrogen to cool the mirrors and reflecting lasers off of them for propulsion. I'm a Doctor of Pharmaceutical Science, and certainly not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination, I'm just trying to wrap my brain around why this wouldn't work. Probably a stupid question, just looking for some insight. Thank you!

Attachments

• Space Propulsion.docx
    36.4 KB · Views: 142
Physics news on Phys.org
The so-called photon rocket is one idea for propulsion through empty space. The idea is that emitting photons, rather than massive particles, is more efficient. See, for example:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photon_rocket

Likes drjamesroe
Thank you!

Your diagram is over complicated. You just point a laser backwards and ride the recoil - no need for your mirror setup, which deflect the beams from going straight backwards and therefore reduce efficiency. You want the beam to be going out the back in as near a perfectly colimated parallel beam as you can arrange.

Last edited:
Please do not ask me to download and open a .DOCX file coming from a stranger. That is a huge malware risk.

@drjamesroe , if it is a diagram, please take a screenshot of it and post the JPG of the screenshot.

Ibix said:
Your diagram is over complicated. You just point a laser backwards and ride the recoil - no need for your mirror setup, which deflect the beams from going straight backwards and therefore reduce efficiency. You want the beam to be going out the back in as near a perfectly colimated parallel beam as you can arrange.