Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Python Learning more languages at once?

1. Nov 17, 2016 #1
    Hi, let me explain the situation. I am learning python on my own, as i am a beginner i found it to be the most suited to my style. Im also doing lots of courses and know quite a bit about it. Now the problem. At my school this month we're starting to learn pascal and in january we are learning C. Will this affect my Python progress or vice versa? I mean will it be the same for the to learn C as if i was not already damiliar in Python, better or worse?
    Thanks

Last edited: Nov 17, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2016 #2

Krylov

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I think it depends a lot on what kind of person you are. Familiarity with Python may really be to your advantage when learning Pascal (I did not know they still teach that in schools) and C, as long as you keep in mind that there are substantial differences between these languages, their natural domains of application and their underlying philosophies, particularly between Python versus Pascal and C.

On the other hand, I think you should be careful not to learn two or three languages "half". It is my impression that I learn a language best by using it to solve problems I encounter on a daily basis. Using three languages interchangeably for this would be more confusing than helpful to me.

4. Nov 17, 2016 #3

QuantumQuest

Gold Member