Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Level of enforced secrecy in nuclear physics

1. a

3 vote(s)
    42.9%
  2. b

3 vote(s)
    42.9%
  3. c

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. d

1 vote(s)
    14.3%
  5. e

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. f

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Jul 19, 2007 #1
    This poll is purely to satisfy my curiousity

"enforced secrecy" in this context means a legal obligation not to share information, such as having to sign an agreement.

Which best describes your situation

a) I never studied nuclear phyics
    b) I studied nuclear physics during a degree without encountering any enforced secrecy
    c) I studied nuclear phyics during a degree and encountered enforced secrecy
    d) I do research into nuclear physics without encountering enforced secrecy
    e) I do research into nulcear physics and encounter enforced secrecy
    f) I can't answer this question for legal reasons

Last edited: Jul 19, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2007 #2

Morbius

Science Advisor

jackie,

Your choices above span a couple "universes" of possibilities.

First, (f) is out - there is NOT a legal prohibition which would prohibit anyone from even
    answering the question.

Answers (b) and (c) form the two possible responses for the case of someone studying
    nuclear physics. If you are studying nuclear physics; in a University, for example;
    then you will not encounter "enforced secrecy". You will be studying the basic physics;
    and the laws of physics are NOT classified in any way shape or form.

If you are doing research; you may or may not have to contend with enforced secrecy
    depending on where you are doing this research. If you are doing research in the
    nuclear weapons design progams at either Los Alamos or Lawrence Livermore; then
    YES - there is enforced secrecy - what else would you expect?