Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Light at speeds faster than the speed of light?

1. May 21, 2015 #1
    I am no big expert on Relativity, though I know that objec cannot exceed the speed of light due to the restriction put by energy-mass equivalence.
    And since light and many waves have no intrinsic mass, they are able to move at such a speed, but why is the speed strictly the speed of light and no more, why can't light, having little to no mass, move faster than its speed?

2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2015 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Isn't that just a tautology, that light travels at the speed of light? Or are you asking why the speed of light is what it is?

4. May 21, 2015 #3
    Why the speed of light is what it is, and thanks in advance.

5. May 21, 2015 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

One way to look at it is to use "Maxwell's equations" for electric and magnetic vector fields, E and B, where [itex]E_x[/itex] and [itex]B_x[/itex] are the components of the electric and magnetic fields, respectively, in the x direction, [itex]E_y[/itex] and [itex]B_y[/itex] in the y- direction, and [itex]E_z[/itex] and [itex]B_z[/itex] in the z-diredtion:

[tex]\nabla\cdot E= \frac{\rho}{\epsilon_0}[/tex]
    [tex]\nabla\cdot B= 0[/tex]
    [tex]\nabla\times E= -\frac{\partial B}{\partial t}[/tex]
    [tex]\nabla\times B= \mu_0\left(J+ \epsilon_0\frac{\partial E}{\partial t}\right)[/tex]

where [itex]\rho[/itex] is the charge density, [itex]\epsilon_0[/itex] is the "permittivity of free space", [itex]\mu_0[/itex] is the "permeability of free space", and J is the electric current density.