1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Limit as (x,y) -> (0,0) ln(x^2+y^2)

1. May 15, 2012 #1
    I know the answer is -infinity but I am not sure how to prove this. Would I just set x=0 and say that lim y-> ln(y^2) = -inf and do the same with y=0? But this would not prove it for all cases... Do I have to use the definition of the limit?

2. jcsd
  3. May 16, 2012 #2
    The form (x^2+y^2) strongly suggests a parameterisation, yes?

4. May 16, 2012 #3
    What does that mean xD, I just started learning limits with two variables today and I found this question online and found it interesting. Something tells me my current knowledge is insufficient to solve this problem...

5. May 16, 2012 #4
    Ah, so you get to learn a new technique today:).

Let's use polar coordinates:
    [tex]x = r cos \theta, y = r sin \theta[/tex]
    Then our limit becomes
    [tex]\lim_{r \to 0} ln (r^2) = 2 \lim_{r \to 0} ln (r)[/tex]​
    You realise here that we have managed to remove the dependence on the direction of approach - ie our answer is independent of [itex]\theta[/itex].

6. May 16, 2012 #5
    Wow this is a pretty cool way to solve limits, thanks!

I have one more question:
    Does the limit as (x,y,z) -> (0,0,0) (xy+yz^2+xz^2)/(x^2+y^2+z^4) exist?

What I did was I set x,y = 0 and solved the limit as z -> 0 which gave me zero.

Next I set y=z^2 and x=z^2 and found the limit as z->0 which gave me 1. Therefore the limit does not exist.

Is this a correct method? I am not sure if it is legal to independently set y and z equal to z^2.

PS: the textbook did it differently they set y=x and z=0 and let the limit x -> 0 but I think there should be multiple ways to do this.

7. May 16, 2012 #6