1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Looking For Physics Career Advice

1. Sep 26, 2009 #1
    Hi, I am currently an undergrad in physics/astronomy in my senior year. I am interested in doing work of a theoretical (or semi-theoretical) nature in the future. My reasoning for this is that it seems it does not require a lot of resources other than access to data and I think I would enjoy it. However my grades are not very good. I have had a very hard time as an undergrad. I also have no work experience. I am kind of a "shy person" so I haven't approached anyone to ask about this, and it also took me some time to come to this conclusion decisively. :) I know it is necessary to get a PHD in order to have a good understanding of the current research fields of physics but at this point I am worried I won't be able to get into grad school... Can anyone give me some suggestions of steps I can take to go in the right direction?

Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 26, 2009 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Well the first step is to get your marks up so you can get into graduate school. If you don't make the cut, the fact of the matter is that you'll have to start considering other careers. It's not always the students with the highest marks who are the most successful in research, but you to have to get in first. While doing this, you also need to make sure you're not just learning for the sake of marks. Most of the stuff that you skip over in undergrad will come back to haunt you at some point in your career.