1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for universities in germany

1. Dec 15, 2012 #1
    Hi, I am new to physics forums and after reading various posts in this section, decided to ask this question; Any suggestions for good universities in germany for physics or engineering (in general) for undergrad studies. I have heard about tuhh, but still uncertain (http://www.tuhh.de/alt/tuhh/startpage.html) as it is relatively new. Anyone has any information on this university, is it very good?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 15, 2012 #2
    Try looking into Heidelberg or LMU (Ludwig Maximilians University) they have very good physics programmes there.

4. Dec 15, 2012 #3
    TUHH is reasonable, as far as I know its pretty small.

Typically universities that have good engineering departments also have good physics departments.
    You can have a look at (randomly sorted):

RWTH Aachen
    TU Munich
    FU Berlin
    LMU
    KIT (Karlsruhe)
    Uni. Stuttguart
    TU Darmstadt
    and others.

5. Dec 15, 2012 #4
    The reason why I am considering TUHH is because they teach their first semester or year (I do not know which) in English, completely. This gives time for international student (like me if I were to go there) time to pick up German language proficiency. The rest of the undergrad studies is in German. Btw is there any other universities that do this too?

6. Dec 16, 2012 #5
    I think there is a similar physics programme in Oldenburg.
    http://www.daad.de/deutschland/studienangebote/studiengang/en/

Learning German from scratch within your first year of university is not a realistic goal:

1. you'll be pretty busy with your technical courses and its probably your first time going to a university where the environment and study habits are different