Magnetic Field Caused by Relativistic Effect

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of magnetic fields and how they are related to electric fields. There is a disagreement about the speed of current-carrying electrons in a wire, with one person claiming it is very slow and another saying it is actually quite fast. The idea is brought up that the force exerted by electrons on a test particle is altered due to relativistic effects, and this is where magnetism comes from. The conversation also touches on the electromagnetic field tensor and the idea that electric and magnetic fields are different ways of dealing with the same quantity.
farmboy
I'm a newbie, so please correct me if this is not a good post.

Question:

The absolute speed of current-carrying electrons of a steady current in a wire are very slow, with respect to the wire.

So how does the magnetic field arise from the relativistic imbalance between the moving electrons and the sum of the stationary charges of the valence electrons and metallic atomic cores?

Is this because there is a very high density of conduction electrons in the wire (~10^23/cm^3), so even with the electrons moving at only a few m/sec or less, still aggregate in total to a large coulombic effect because there are so very many?

Thanks!
farmboy

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome!
The magnetic force around a wire as a result of relativity works like this:
Lets say you have a wire going from left to right with a positive charge ontop of it moving to the right with the same speed as the E's in the wire. In this frame, the only force on the P (positive charge) is the magnetic field of th E (electrons) which pulls the P down.