Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Manchester Encoding Probability of Error

1. Feb 2, 2013 #1
    Greetings,

I am studying Analog & Digital Communications in one of my lectures and I'm stuck with a subject. I would be much pleased if someone is willing to help me on the subject below;

Probability of error of a digital signal sent by using non return to zero encoding is easy
    to find such that we can apply -A+N for output if 0 is sent and A+N if 1 is sent for a single signal transmitted in the interval 0<t<T. Since this interval will only consist of an rectangle of height A or either height -A of cases 1 and 0 being sent respectively, we can use the mean and variance of Y (which is the output Y=-A+N or Y=A+N depending on the data being transmitted), normalize it and use the Q() function to find the error rate. Howeve Manchester encoding is different in sense that to send signal 1 0<t<T/2 is A and T/2<t<T is -A and viceaversa for 0.

How am I supposed to do the math of this? When I was working with NRZ I built my calculations on the fact that x(t)=-A+w(t) in the case of 0 being transmitted (w(t) being white gaussian noise. How can I build my new x(t) fuction which the rest I'm sure I can handle.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2013 #2

rbj

do you have your synchronization taken care of? are you pretty certain when [itex]t=0[/itex] is and when [itex]t=T/2[/itex] and [itex]t=T[/itex] are?