Masters doubt regarding computational neuroscience career

In summary, the conversation discusses the best approach for a biomedical engineering student interested in computational neuroscience. It is suggested to focus on the mathematical side, particularly in non-linear dynamics and statistics, while supplementing self-study in the biology aspect. The importance of hands-on experience and keeping a broad overview of neurobiology is also emphasized. The conversation also mentions the emerging field of ephaptic coupling and the challenges of acquiring all the necessary knowledge in just a master's and PhD program.
Cyview
I'm a biomedical engineering student interested in computational neuroscience, "the neural code" and systems neuroscience to be more concrete. The problem is in my country Mexico, master's degrees either focus in the mathematical side or the biological. What would be better to study a master's in dynamical systems and control or in Probability and statistics (studying the biology on my own) and then try to get into a Ph.D in neurobiology or a master's and Ph.D in neurobiology and study the math on my own.

Physics news on Phys.org
Cyview said:
...be better to study a master's in dynamical systems and control or in Probability and statistics (studying the biology on my own) and then try to get into a Ph.D in neurobiology

That would be my suggestion. The key word here is "computational" neuroscience, which includes neuroinformatics. That means you're most likely going to be dealing largely with abstract neural network architectures rather than experimental brain "wet-ware" physiology. So the maths are going to be primary.

If you want an idea of what kind of maths your going to need for that effort, try reading some of Karl Friston's work. I don't think you really want to try learning that on your own if you can avoid it. I went the second route you talk about and am finding it more difficult than I thought to catch up on the math with self-study.