1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Masters now Continue on to PhD or Enter Industry?

1. Nov 28, 2007 #1
    I'm trying to weigh my options early to decide whether it's best for me to go on to a PhD program after I finish my MS in physics or go into industry.

A little background: I'm in my first year (first semester, at that) of my MS program in physics. I'm at the same school I completed my BS in physics at (San Diego State University), which isn't a highly recognized department by any means (although I really like it). My undergrad GPA was 2.85 while my last 60 was 3.1 and my last 30 was 3.56 and I will receive a 4.0 in the 6 units I'm currently enrolled in. I'm also a TA for physics at SDSU.

My research will be in experimental condensed matter physics (superconducting materials to be more specific). My adviser has close ties with Univ. of Montana's program as well as Univ. of Iowa so I see myself likely heading to one of their PhD programs after I finish, although I'll be applying to others.

My end goal is to get a job in industry. I'd potentially like to move on to patent agent work (or attorney) after being in industry for at least a solid few years and getting "real life" experience under my belt. I'm really really enjoy teaching but I can't stand the grant money/department politicking that has to happen to go on to a tenured professor position at a university.

So, the question is: Do I get a job with an MS degree or go for the higher degree and go into industry from there? What kind of pay difference am I looking at? What sort of positions would I be applying for, assuming they'll be different depending on the degree?

I've already asked myself (and answered the basic questions).