• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Master's Thesis OR Comprehensive Exam?

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello Forum,

I'm a first year graduate student in a Master's in electrical engineering program. I am currently taking several graduate courses in different fields so that I may make the very important decision of what to focus on in my later coursework. I would like to ask those of you with similar experience, what the benefits and drawbacks of going the thesis route versus the comprehensive exam are for a master's in EE? I am asking this question in a very general sense, as I'm sure this can vary on different circumstances. I am coming from the perspective of wanting to go straight into industry after completing my master's degree and not continuing on for a Ph.D. I am unsure of whether I will head into the semiconductor field or wireless circuit design. But in general, is there a large advantage to going the thesis route from the perspective of an employer? Or is a master's degree simply a master's degree regardless of how you got it.

Answers and Replies

UltrafastPED
Science Advisor
Gold Member
The thesis is a work product which you can show to a prospective employer in your portfolio.

It would be especially useful if it matches up with the area in which you are seeking work.

analogdesign
Science Advisor
A MS is just an MS once you're a few years out of school. The real difference is getting that first job. The thesis is work product as UltrafastPED said. A completed thesis indicates you completed a challenging project, which is an important job skill. If you do an exam, you did well in your courses but you haven't demonstrated that you can independently complete a project. That's important.